ReelLIFE SCIENCE Winners 2017 Announced!

Today, at the start of Science Week 2017, the winners of ReelLIFE SCIENCE 2017 are announced as SOOEY NATIONAL SCHOOL from Sooey, Co. Sligo at primary school level, DAVITT COLLEGE, Castlebar, Co. Mayo at secondary school level, and COROFIN FORÓIGE CLUB at Community Level. Their short science videos were selected from almost 200 entries, produced by over 1,500 participants in 83 schools and community groups around Ireland.

Based in NUI Galway and supported by the Science Foundation Ireland Discover programme, the Community Knowledge Initiative (CKI), the CÚRAM Centre for Research in Medical Devices, the National Centre for Biomedical Engineering Science and the Cell EXPLORERS outreach programme, ReelLIFE SCIENCE challenges participants in schools and community groups to engage with science by producing fun and educational short videos. Since 2013, the programme has encouraged more than 8,500 participants in 300 schools and community groups nationwide to learn more about science and technology, while developing their communication and digital skills.

Continue reading “ReelLIFE SCIENCE Winners 2017 Announced!”

Introducing the ReelLIFE SCIENCE Special Guest Judges for 2017

2017 Judges Each year, ReelLIFE SCIENCE recruits a special panel of scientists and science communicators to select the best science videos made by schools and groups around Ireland. This year is no different, and we are delighted to introduce our Special Guest Judges for 2017 as Professor Luke O’Neill from Trinity College Dublin, Amber Gell from NASA and Lockheed Martin and Shane Curran from Terenure College Dublin.

Closing date for entries to this year’s competition is Friday October 13th!

Prof. Luke O’Neill is one of Ireland’s most respected and recognisable scientists. Awarded a prestigious Fellowship of the Royal Society in 2016 for his groundbreaking work on the innate immune system, Luke’s signature is now in the Society’s Charter Book alongside those of eminent scientists like Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein and Stephen Hawking. Continue reading “Introducing the ReelLIFE SCIENCE Special Guest Judges for 2017”